Creative Coding: The first two weeks

The second week of the courses I wrote about in my last post is over. A good time, to report about my impressions so far.

While the course material is not new to me (as I wrote last in the last post, it is not the first time for me to start the courses), especially the course on Futurelearn made me think a lot about computers and art.

I also enjoyed seeing that one of the fellow students of the last run of the course, Jerome Herr, now works as a moderator in the forums. He has since the last time done a lot with Processing, the language used in both courses, and his work together with some starting points for people interested in learning can be found on his Tumblr. But he is by far not the only Processing artist on that platform, one blog that collects works from many artists and in so doing serves as a good starting point for anyone interested in finding more art is For Your Processing. Somehow Tumblr seems to be a nice place to share art in general and especially generated art, that often comes in the form of pictures, videos or animated gifs.

So because I see this blog here more as a place to write, I decided to reactivate my old own Tumblr account and repurpose it to computer generated art. I am not really content with its name and its look, but I am certain that the experiences from doing the Blogging101 course with this blog will help me to bring it in shape.

As I am at the same time learning more about web development (more on that in another post), I will certainly convert some of the projects from Processing into HTML, CSS and JavaScript, but that is something I will have to talk more about when I have the first examples.

So to sum it up: I am having fun especially with the Futurelearn course and with Processing and hope everyone else has too.

Leave a Reply

