Not there, but on the way … to a new name and tagline

The second day of Blogging101 does not necessary involve writing a blog post. Instead, the task is to change the name and the title of the blog. It is not a hard rule, that everybody in the course has to change these, but we have to at least think about it  (maybe with the help of some advice). Until now, I haven’t come up with a name or a tagline. I have thought about it and at the beginning of the day, I was convinced, that I would want the old words to stay the same: “Doxanthropos” was the name of my first blog and the tagline “Yet another Journal of unconnected thoughts” was as unspecific, as I wanted it to be. But while I was at work, the doubts came: “Maybe it is time for something new, the blog is clearly not the same as the old one.”, “Am I just to lazy to think about another name?” Now after I have read the advice for naming again, I have made a decision: The old name has to go. My post yesterday was way more specific, about what I want to do with this blog than “Yet another Journal of unconnected thoughts” and Doxanthropos isn’t what this is going to be about either. It is a word, I made up for my first blog combining the ancient greek words “doxa” (opinion) and “anthropos” (human). The tagline that came with it was “Meinen ist menschlich.” (roughly: having opinions is only human) a pun on the latin proverb “errare humanum est“. Both were appropriate for a blog with mostly political comments, but I now realize, that this is not true for this new blog. So I gave it a try based on my first Blogging101-post and after considering “To late for the Renaissance. Failing to learn about everything, but trying repeatedly” I settled for now with “Amazed webfarer. On the Journey of learning and growing”. I am not really content with it. It seriously lacks a pun, but it is better than the old one. So be warned, the title of this blog might change in the next days.

One thought on “Not there, but on the way … to a new name and tagline

Leave a Reply

